We were playing 4.5 dubs last night, the score locked at one set all. My partner had to go home early, so for the deciding third set we agreed on sudden-death, no deuces allowed. However when the set started, all 4 players promptly "forgot" about the no-deuces rule in the very first game. The opposing team played out and won the first point of the deuce. Suddenly the opposing team "remembered" we were supposed to play "no-deuces", and claimed that they had won the game, since they did win the first point of the deuce game. I counter argued, saying that since all 4 players "forgot" to play the no-deuces rule, the game should play out normally, and then for subsequent games the no-deuces rule can re-start. Who was right?