You can't do the bold. If you start the point with it on the court you have to finish it out.If you serve a ball into the net, or if the ball is anywhere within 5 feet of the court I'm going to force you to pick it up, because it is a distraction. If you don't, I'll wait until you are about to hit a winner, and then call a let. That usually gets the idea across to the opponent and is well within the rules. Usually the ones who don't pick up the balls are the ones who are such a nervous wreck trying to hit a 2nd serve that they don't want to move and reset.