returning a serve close to the net??

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by dh003i, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. dh003i

    dh003i Legend

    Apr 27, 2006
    I know the idea sounds incredibly crazy and ludicrous, but it would be interesting. Is it possible to return serve close to the net? Or is there a rule that players have to stand at or behind the baseline to return serve?
  2. Ztalin

    Ztalin Guest

    As long as the ball bounces, it's good.
  3. spaceman_spiff

    spaceman_spiff Hall of Fame

    Aug 24, 2005
    The crappest town in Britain
    I think the rule is that you have to allow a serve to bounce before you hit it.

    I have played a social match against a lady that literally stands only a couple of feet behind the service box when returning. I thought she was joking, but my partner said she's always done that. I was trying to be friendly but hit a bit of a kick serve for my 2nd (without thinking, it just comes naturally). When the ball changed directions, she had no chance at returning it and muttered something about the ball being messed up. I didn't want to try to tell her that she might want to stand a little farther back.
  4. Andres

    Andres G.O.A.T.

    Apr 21, 2005
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
    Do you think it's INTERESTING to half-volley a return of a 130 mph serve?
    Suicidal to your arm, in my opinion...
  5. OrangeOne

    OrangeOne Legend

    May 31, 2006
    Why would half-volleying a 130 serve be any different to your arm than hitting it in the first place? Given that a 130 serve is going to loses pace through the air and during the bounce, it'd be even less impactive on the arm than serving it i'd think...

    (and hey - i'm not recommending this practice as a whole, but just don't think the arm-logic holds up)
  6. jaggy

    jaggy G.O.A.T.

    Jun 8, 2006
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Peter Doohan who beat Becker in Wimbledon many years ago used to do that often, basically chipping and charging after close to a half volley service return
  7. Moose Malloy

    Moose Malloy Legend

    Dec 27, 2005
    paul annacone stood closer to the service box than anyone i've seen. not sure the guy actually hit more than 10 groundstrokes in his career.
  8. Skppr05

    Skppr05 Semi-Pro

    Aug 1, 2005
    if your a character in prince of tennis it wouldn't sound to ludacris :cool:
  9. LowProfile

    LowProfile Professional

    Mar 10, 2006
    I suppose it would throw off the rhythm of your opponent if you did it on a crucial point, but I wouldn't recommend doing it regularly.

    Chang did it to Lendl at the French in 87. Lendl double faulted by going for too much because he knew that if he babied it in, Chang would crush the serve return.
  10. grizzly4life

    grizzly4life Professional

    Apr 30, 2006
    i was in a doubles tournament where i thought my partner and i were pretty overmatched.... so i figured i need to shake something up, so i did that..... it threw the opponents off and frankly it was pretty easy to make good returns. now, not sure how it would work in singles as you're leaving half the court wide open.... but worked like an absolute charm in doubles, and i didn't think it required too much hand/eye co-ordination (BTW, one of the opponents had a big serve, the other didn't)

Share This Page