Discussion in 'Former Pro Player Talk' started by laurie, Feb 16, 2008.
This one's courtesy of JSnapple
thats one nervous ballboy
Nice video..thanks for posting..
Wow, amazing. I'm speechless =_=
Is that shot good? I mean, doesn't it have to go over the net and land in to be a winner? No matter how many times I look at the clip, I still can't understand.
Dude it doesn't have to go over the net it just has to land in.
Well he got the point didn't he?
And they called it a winner...
Its a legal shot.
I'm guessing that cross court is not an option there?
He hits the winner. Doesn't hit the ball kid. Avoids hitting the umpire chair. Jumps over the chairs. GG.
reminded me of this shot. though not the same, still very good
Its too bad for Philippoussis in that match because he was up a set and had a good chance in beating Sampras until he had to retire due to an injury.
What about the pigeon killer shot
My apologies for my ignorance. I know that that shot is now history but, for example, let's say that someone serves a shot that is extremely wide (with a wicked kicking slice). All I have to do is return it straight down, regardless of the height of the net, and have it land in to make it a winner? Why have I been trying to get it over the net then?
And what if the court has the length of the net slightly longer that the width of the court, post to post? Then some courts would be 'easier' to hit winners, wouldn't they? Are there rules as to how long the net should be?
Again, my apologies. I just really want to know.
Technically, the rule is the net posts have to be three feet outside the sideline. For exclusively singles play, the net is placed within where the doubles alleys are. Around the net post shots are more possible in singles play that way.
The same would therefore go for doubles play where the net posts are placed outside the doubles sideline. Around the net post shots are possible too when the court is "expanded" to include the doubles alleys.
Actually talking about around the net post it reminds me of this incredible forehand winner from sampras - from a seemingly impossible deep position
It's the 4th point in the game.
Haha, I just found that myself and I was about to post it.
That was an awesome shot!
Not so great hurdle over the chairs.
that was great. thanks!
Jsnapple has come up with another gem - check the last point in this clip.
Separate names with a comma.