Serve Out?

D

Deleted member 23235

Guest
I can see both sides of the argument...

Bottom line (to avoid confusion/argument/line-call-lawyers)...
* if my opponent disagrees with my partner's call, and ask's me, I only say, "My partner already made the call" (presuming I agree with/defer to my partner's call)
* if my *partner* asks me what I saw, then I'll answer honestly (ie. I didn't see it == good).
* If I *disagree* with my partner, and I'm certain (ie. i was in a better angle to make a call), I will confer with him/her (privately), and let them know I disagree, and let my partner correct themselves (I will NOT correct his/her call to my opponents).... (i don't recall the last time a partner has stayed with their call in this situation).
 
What do you think of this? Your partner is receiving serve. You call the serve long. Opponent questions the call and asks your partner whether he thought the serve was out. Your partner says he doesn't know or isn't sure. Opponent then claims a disagreement and insists on the point.
Returner should say, "Serve was out, he was just practicing his returns."
 

sundaypunch

Hall of Fame
-If anyone says "I dont know", then the ball is considered in.
Not true.

If you or your partner says "I didnt see it", you have just lost the point.
Again, not true. Take the word of the umpire below.


This is not true. Players don't have to agree on a call, they just can't disagree. If one partner makes an out call after seeing it out, the partner may not have a good look at it.

Saying "I didn't see it" is a lot different than disagreeing with your partner.

If both partners don't see it, then the team loses the point.
 

Dakota C

New User
What do you think of this? Your partner is receiving serve. You call the serve long. Opponent questions the call and asks your partner whether he thought the serve was out. Your partner says he doesn't know or isn't sure. Opponent then claims a disagreement and insists on the point.
The forward player has the best call since he will have the best angle and is only concerned with seeing whether it lands, while the receiving player has to be mostly concerned with receiving the ball well. NOW, ALWAYS talk with your partner before a match and make sure you make all calls confidently. They are probably just a-holes because anyone with half a thought realizes the forward player, if actively watching the ball land, has most valid call.
 
Top