Server calls own serve out?

dragonfruit

New User
Played mixed doubles couple of days ago, opponent server hits a serve and hits the service line and I hit return the serve for a winner. Neither me or my partner called the serve out, but the server did not make an attempt to continue the rally. She then proceeds to say that her serve was out, despite both me and my partner saying that the serve was in. We replayed the point, but is it ever ok for the server to call their own serve out despite the opposing teams saying it was in?
 

OrangePower

Legend
Server can always call 2nd serve out.
Server may only call 1st serve out if the returner did not get the ball back in play (i.e. ace or service winner).
 

hrstrat57

Hall of Fame
Questions like this come up a lot on the forums.... Why not have a new forum perhaps titled "tennis rules / code questions and discussion "

Certainly doesn't belong in adult league forum which I believe limits the discussion. Many folks never look at this forum...

Just my .02
 

Overdrive

Legend
Questions like this come up a lot on the forums.... Why not have a new forum perhaps titled "tennis rules / code questions and discussion "

Certainly doesn't belong in adult league forum which I believe limits the discussion. Many folks never look at this forum...

Just my .02
I support this idea.

Please post this idea to TW Comments.
 

hrstrat57

Hall of Fame
I support this idea.

Please post this idea to TW Comments.
Elaborate on my thoughts a rule/ code specific forum might encourage tennis rules officials and umpires to participate here. This happens quite a bit on 4GEA golf forum in the rules section and some of the discussion is outstanding and always on point.
 

Overdrive

Legend
Elaborate on my thoughts a rule/ code specific forum might encourage tennis rules officials and umpires to participate here. This happens quite a bit on 4GEA golf forum in the rules section and some of the discussion is outstanding and always on point.
Isn't Woodrow an umpire?

There's a reason why the Golf forum has less trolls.

Also, most of the threads on here (70 % of Cindy's threads) fall into this category.
 

hrstrat57

Hall of Fame
Isn't Woodrow an umpire?

There's a reason why the Golf forum has less trolls.

Also, most of the threads on here (70 % of Cindy's threads) fall into this category.
Thanks Overdrive, posted thread as suggested, good call!

Poach off, back to who can call a serve out talk.....
 

JLyon

Hall of Fame
Generally one should not call their own serves out, especially first serves when the opponent puts the ball back in play.
I generally will call my own serve out if it is an apparent ace or service winner and I clearly see it wide, usually down the T.
 

dragonfruit

New User
Thanks guys for the comments and apologies for posting in the wrong area of the forum.

But yeah I thought it was shady for her to call it out after I hit a winner. My return was playable but she decided not to chase after the ball and called her own serve out.

And of course, her serve was not a screaming 100mph serve, or even 60mph. it was clearly on the line and I thought it inappropriate for her to call it out since she was the furthest player from the service line.
 

Govnor

Professional
I actually did the same thing this weekend, it was a friendly game, so that is why. Normally I would not. It looked waaaay out to me, but I was told it was on the line after! I was shocked.
 

user92626

Legend
What if you want to get shady with this rule that when a woman player pops a floaty first serve over that is completely out but at a very advantageous spot for you to smack a winner (like close to the sideside, etc), you proceed to smack the ball anyway and your partner remains quiet?

Does your winner still count?
 

Tar Heel Tennis

Professional
Generally one should not call their own serves out, especially first serves when the opponent puts the ball back in play.
I generally will call my own serve out if it is an apparent ace or service winner and I clearly see it wide, usually down the T.
You liar! I know darn well that nobody can see where your serves land with your pace - including yourself! :)

Hope you're doing well!
 

Tar Heel Tennis

Professional
What if you want to get shady with this rule that when a woman player pops a floaty first serve over that is completely out but at a very advantageous spot for you to smack a winner (like close to the sideside, etc), you proceed to smack the ball anyway and your partner remains quiet?

Does your winner still count?
as long as an official doesn't witness your obvious disregard for the rules, and you're a dbag that would do something like this, then yes, the point would stand as played (according to the USTA rules).
 

OrangePower

Legend
What if you want to get shady with this rule that when a woman player pops a floaty first serve over that is completely out but at a very advantageous spot for you to smack a winner (like close to the sideside, etc), you proceed to smack the ball anyway and your partner remains quiet?

Does your winner still count?
Sure, your "winner" still counts.
Same as if you were to call "out" a ball that lands obviously in during a rally. Your point unless there is an official there to overrule.

In a self-officiated match we have to rely on all players making calls with integrity. I do believe that the vast majority of players are trying to make the right calls, but of course there are unfortunately exceptions.
 

user92626

Legend
Sure, your "winner" still counts.
Same as if you were to call "out" a ball that lands obviously in during a rally. Your point unless there is an official there to overrule.

In a self-officiated match we have to rely on all players making calls with integrity. I do believe that the vast majority of players are trying to make the right calls, but of course there are unfortunately exceptions.
So if it's about integrity, then why does the OP still ask, unless he meant to question his opponent's integrity?

I would think that you either go by rule or integrity but not both, and make the most of it, right? That's competition.
 

OrangePower

Legend
So if it's about integrity, then why does the OP still ask, unless he meant to question his opponent's integrity?

I would think that you either go by rule or integrity but not both, and make the most of it, right? That's competition.
Obviously honest mistakes can happen. Sometime you are not sure if a serve is in or out and so you return it because you are giving opponent the benefit of the doubt, but they themselves thought their serve was out.

That's different to the example you gave about getting shady with the rule, which to me is the same as hooking on out calls.
 

user92626

Legend
Obviously honest mistakes can happen. Sometime you are not sure if a serve is in or out and so you return it because you are giving opponent the benefit of the doubt, but they themselves thought their serve was out.

That's different to the example you gave about getting shady with the rule, which to me is the same as hooking on out calls.
I see what you mean. I used "getting shady" as an exaggeration for effect, but what about in a highly competitive situation where players just want to extract every advantage which is legit. What seems as "hooking" or outrageous to one isn't necessarily so to another.

Anyway, I see the complexity, but which should take precedence? rule or integrity?
 

schmke

Hall of Fame
I see what you mean. I used "getting shady" as an exaggeration for effect, but what about in a highly competitive situation where players just want to extract every advantage which is legit. What seems as "hooking" or outrageous to one isn't necessarily so to another.

Anyway, I see the complexity, but which should take precedence? rule or integrity?
If you are waiting to see where your return goes to call a serve out, that is not in line with the rules and I would not consider it a legit "extraction of every advantage". If you see the ball as too close to call out and thus don't call it out, and proceed to hit a winner return, that is legit.
 

equinox

Hall of Fame
What if you want to get shady with this rule that when a woman player pops a floaty first serve over that is completely out but at a very advantageous spot for you to smack a winner (like close to the sideside, etc), you proceed to smack the ball anyway and your partner remains quiet?

Does your winner still count?
Yes.

Though if this was done repeatedly and deliberately, player would likely get cited for unsportsmanlike behaviour.

Server should always expect any ball to be good, until a opposition call is made.

So that lady cheated and should be vigorously reminded of the rules.
 
Top