the kiefer match

skip1969

G.O.A.T.
is anybody watching it????

good stuff. though if chris fowler tells me ONE MORE TIME that this guy gicquel is 29 years old . . . i'm hiring a french hit man.
 

armand

Banned
This is a pretty good match. The Massu 5 setter from a couple of days was really boring and even the Murray-Monfils 5 setter wasn't that good. Kiefer-Gicquel is quite good.

Gicquel is 29 yrs old! And he's a only club player and he also has a PJ!
 

panic

Rookie
Some of those net points have been the most beautiful. Gicquel has some nice speed when running those dropshots
 

armand

Banned
skip1969 said:
leave it to espn to cut away from a match at 8 all in the 5th set to do an interview. nerds!
It wasn't that bad; it was Federer and he was also asked about Gicquel and they were showing the match while much of the interview took place. And even if the match had ended during the interview, I'm sure they woulda replayed that little bit.
 

skip1969

G.O.A.T.
good match. only slightly tainted by fowler and gilbert babbling during every friggin' point. a lot of talk, but they really ain't sayin' s**t.

silence is golden. or at least, economy of words.
 

panic

Rookie
He went crazy after winning it. 6-0, 6-1, 5-7, 3-6, 11-9 Kiefer won. I'm watching russian eurosport, they got good commentary there, no exessive talk, but no boring talk either
 

Lindros13

Semi-Pro
Did anyone else see Gicquel's last lob land in? (The final match point) I replayed it a few times, and it looked good to me. But the ref said, "game, set, match" and Gicquel didn't question it. Even the announcers didn't show a close-up replay - maybe to avoid a controversy?!?

Maybe I saw it wrong, but it looked like the topspin kept that ball in.
 

Andy Hewitt

Professional
Lindros13 said:
Did anyone else see Gicquel's last lob land in? (The final match point) I replayed it a few times, and it looked good to me. But the ref said, "game, set, match" and Gicquel didn't question it. Even the announcers didn't show a close-up replay - maybe to avoid a controversy?!?

Maybe I saw it wrong, but it looked like the topspin kept that ball in.
I thought it went in too but I just saw Kief's arms go up and said hell, he did it.
 

bob marley

New User
I thought it was in too. I wanted it to go on longer. Oh well, it was still a good match.

I'm not really a Kiefer fan, so it would have been nice to see Gicquel win :).
 

BreakPoint

Bionic Poster
The final lob ball was in. I replayed it several times in slo-mo and the ball landed just inside of the baseline.

I think Kiefer celebrating prematurely influenced the non-call. I think the umpire said "game, set, match" when he saw Kiefer raise his arms in celebration. Thus, he didn't even bother to check the mark.

Kiefer stole the match. Another one of his antics. Makes me sick. :mad:

Poor Gicquel, after all that effort in coming back and saving all of those match points. :(
 

BreakPoint

Bionic Poster
Here's the excerpts from the interview with Kiefer from the RG website:

Q. There seems some ambiguity about that final ball in Marc's press conference. You saw it out clearly?

NICOLAS KIEFER: Yes. He didn't?

Q. It looked in on the television.

NICOLAS KIEFER: It was close, but it was out.

Q. Could have asked the chair umpire to inspect the mark if he wanted to.

NICOLAS KIEFER: Right.


Sounds like Gicquel did question the call after the match. Also sounds like Kiefer is a bit unsure if the ball was out because he asked "He didn't?" referring to maybe Gicquel saw the ball the ball in. If he truely believed the ball was definitely out, he would have answered that first question with just a "Yes", period, and not questioned how his opponent saw it. Only when you're unsure about a call yourself do you ever ask how your opponent saw it.
 
BreakPoint said:
Here's the excerpts from the interview with Kiefer from the RG website:

Q. There seems some ambiguity about that final ball in Marc's press conference. You saw it out clearly?

NICOLAS KIEFER: Yes. He didn't?

Q. It looked in on the television.

NICOLAS KIEFER: It was close, but it was out.

Q. Could have asked the chair umpire to inspect the mark if he wanted to.

NICOLAS KIEFER: Right.


Sounds like Gicquel did question the call after the match. Also sounds like Kiefer is a bit unsure if the ball was out because he asked "He didn't?" referring to maybe Gicquel saw the ball the ball in. If he truely believed the ball was definitely out, he would have answered that first question with just a "Yes", period, and not questioned how his opponent saw it. Only when you're unsure about a call yourself do you ever ask how your opponent saw it.
You totally misunderstood the sense of "he didn't?" in Kiefer's mouth, it was some sort of sarcasm directed to Gicquel, and a way for kieffer to mean that he is so sure that the ball was out, that he is surprised that Gicquel during his press conference could have questionned the validity of the empire's judgement on that last match point.
 
Top