The Loco Coco Call today

Who was correct?

  • They were both wrong.

  • Umpire was correct. The call came as Coco was already making contact.

  • Coco was correct. Call affected her shot.

  • Too close to call.


Results are only viewable after voting.

travlerajm

Talk Tennis Guru
When I saw the title to the clip, I was expecting to be disappointed at Coco for disrespecting an umpire.

But then I watched the clip. Coco was right. Umpire wronged her.

What do you guys think?

Swiatek hit a first serve.

In split second succession:
1. Serve hits on or near service line.
2. Coco hits return wide.
3. Out call (instantaneous with ball impact on strings)
4. Umpire says correction ball was good, awards point to Swiatek.

Maybe I’m wrong, but I’d think that the point is already over the instant linesperson calls out, and that coco finishing her swing and playing the ball shouldn’t matter?

Edit: after watching clip several times, I think umpire might have been correct.

 
Last edited:

Sport

G.O.A.T.
Coco:

coco.jpg
 

Jonesy

Legend
Botox really ruins any normal human's face. Couldn't even reconize who that umpire was with the face that is getting more and more swollen by the day. Perhaps one day it will pop.
 

Pass750

Professional
When I saw the title to the clip, I was expecting to be disappointed at Coco for disrespecting an umpire.

But then I watched the clip. Coco was right. Umpire wronged her.

What do you guys think?

Swiatek hit a first serve.

In split second succession:
1. Serve hits on or near service line.
2. Linesperson calls out.
3. Coco hits return wide.
4. Umpire says correction ball was good, awards point to Swiatek.

Maybe I’m wrong, but I’d think that the point is already over the instant linesperson calls out, and that coco finishing her swing and playing the ball shouldn’t matter?
It was an awful call. Aside from ump being wrong, when it is that close they should err to the side of the returner and call a let.
 

Pass750

Professional
When I saw the title to the clip, I was expecting to be disappointed at Coco for disrespecting an umpire.

But then I watched the clip. Coco was right. Umpire wronged her.

What do you guys think?

Swiatek hit a first serve.

In split second succession:
1. Serve hits on or near service line.
2. Linesperson calls out.
3. Coco hits return wide.
4. Umpire says correction ball was good, awards point to Swiatek.

Maybe I’m wrong, but I’d think that the point is already over the instant linesperson calls out, and that coco finishing her swing and playing the ball shouldn’t matter?

The problem is umpire said her swing was finished before the out call.
 
Let's hope Iga loses in the final, she's won too many of these. A few more and she'll be considered one-dimensional, ahem ahem. Focus on the real prize, Wimbledon.
 
Let's hope Iga loses in the final, she's won too many of these. A few more and she'll be considered one-dimensional, ahem ahem. Focus on the real prize, Wimbledon.
Except Wimbledon has a weaker field, so winning Roland Garros is always the superior achievement.
Most players in Europe/South America grow up on clay, not grass... and the rest grow up on hardcourt.
 

Hitman

Bionic Poster
Coco was still losing today, she is the perfect opponent for Iga.

She has become a virtual bye with that horrible H2H. Too much scar tissue.
 

aldeayeah

G.O.A.T.
ITF Rules of Tennis, 2024 edition, page 28 (Appendix VI: Role of court officials)

Case 7: If a chair umpire or line umpire calls “Out” and then corrects the call to good, what is the correct decision?

Decision: The chair umpire must decide if the original “Out” call was a hindrance to either player. If it was a hindrance, the point shall be replayed. If it was not a hindrance, the player who hit the ball wins the point.
 

travlerajm

Talk Tennis Guru
Now you're trolling. Line judge yells out out at same time Coco is hitting the ball. She hears it as she hits the ball which obviously changes the way she hits the ball.

Umpire 100% wrong.
Poll created to decide this.
 

travlerajm

Talk Tennis Guru
LOL... such a troll.

I watched it a few more times now. Gauff clearly hits a throw away stroke, which makes it evident that she heard rhe call before hitting the ball.
There does seem to be a case for Coco here. Going to have to watch additional reps.
 

travlerajm

Talk Tennis Guru
There does seem to be a case for Coco here. Going to have to watch additional reps.
Coco does appear to hit a throwaway stroke, but she had already committed to the throwaway stroke prior to the call, because she apparently believed the serve was out herself.

Was the serve actually in or out?
 

travlerajm

Talk Tennis Guru
I rewatched it yet another time.

Unless there’s a disconnect between the audio and video, it seems that the out call actually occurred a split second After Coco made contact.

Thus, the umpire was correct. And Coco was mistakenly upset for the wrong reason.
 

travlerajm

Talk Tennis Guru
LOL... such a troll.

I watched it a few more times now. Gauff clearly hits a throw away stroke, which makes it evident that she heard rhe call before hitting the ball.
Rewatch again. It appears to me that the audible out call occurred a split second after Coco made contact with the ball.
 

a10best

Legend
Now you're trolling. Line judge yells out out at same time Coco is hitting the ball. She hears it as she hits the ball which obviously changes the way she hits the ball.

Umpire 100% wrong.
Umpire needed to correct quickly like Mohamed does. Loud, quick and replay the point.
 
Last edited:

soldat

Semi-Pro
Let's hope Iga loses in the final, she's won too many of these. A few more and she'll be considered one-dimensional, ahem ahem. Focus on the real prize, Wimbledon.

The better player should win, it’s not like Iga cheated her way to the final.

I’m not a Iga fan because of her silly flapping but she is an excellent player. I just wish Rybakina had won against Paolini so they could have a FO final showdown but alas
 
The better player should win, it’s not like Iga cheated her way to the final.

I’m not a Iga fan because of her silly flapping but she is an excellent player. I just wish Rybakina had won against Paolini so they could have a FO final showdown but alas

Didn't Osaka choke against her?
 

jm1980

Talk Tennis Guru
Botox really ruins any normal human's face. Couldn't even reconize who that umpire was with the face that is getting more and more swollen by the day. Perhaps one day it will pop.
That's not botox, it's fillers.

Also, botox is temporary (unless it's completely botched). People who do botox treatments have to go back regularly for more injections
 

Baseline_Bungle

Hall of Fame
Didn't watch the match, seeing this for the first time now. Looks like the umpire was that demented poop-brained moron who single-handedly robbed Sinner of the M-C title, so I'm tempted to go against her on principle.

But honestly, this was a correct decision. No way that botched return was affected by the linesperson's call, even if it came a millisecond before contact. (which I'm not sure it did)
 

droliver

Professional
The umpire got it right in the video.

Call was made after she'd struck the ball. Her weird stroke was her believing the ball was out I'd guess.
 

dr. godmode

Hall of Fame
Hard to tell on video. My guess is that there's a bit of an audio delay through the feed. Coco hearing the call in person probably came more noticeably before she hit the shot.

Still, I think Coco's body language suggests she read the ball as out and she probably would have missed because of that anyway.
 

Terenigma

G.O.A.T.
Not sure why so many people are on Coco's side here, the call was ever so slightly after she hit the ball and where she hit the ball (so far wide) wouldn't have changed if the call had come later. Im of the view the chair umpire made the right call or at the very least it was MUCH closer than people would have you believe.

Now you're trolling. Line judge yells out out at same time Coco is hitting the ball. She hears it as she hits the ball which obviously changes the way she hits the ball.

Umpire 100% wrong.

No way it changes anything, look at how the ball was coming at her and her body position, she was always hitting that wide. The call didn't affect her since it was literally right after she made contact or at the same time. Umpire made the right call but as another poster pointed out, we don't know if the audio on the footage is slightly delayed and maybe on live on court it felt closer.
 
Last edited:

jm1980

Talk Tennis Guru
I rewatched it yet another time.

Unless there’s a disconnect between the audio and video, it seems that the out call actually occurred a split second After Coco made contact.

Thus, the umpire was correct. And Coco was mistakenly upset for the wrong reason.
The audio is very noticeably late. You can tell because the sounds of the balls being struck are coming in well after the video shows contact. By my calculations, the delay is around 200 ms

If you ignore the video and just listen to the audio, you can tell the out call is made as Coco makes contact with the ball. She definitely has an argument here that the call affected her swing.

That being said, I think Coco thought the serve was out, and it's unlikely she would have made the return, with or without the call.

If you download the video (from this tweet) and go frame by frame, Swiatek hits the serve in between frames 55 and 56 in a 25fps video. This means it was struck at around 2.22s in the video. Now if you open the video in an audio editor, you can pinpoint the serve as being struck at 2.40s, about 180ms later
 
Last edited:

Better_Call_Raul

Hall of Fame
Believe the French will finally be implementing HawkEye next year. Better late than never we suppose.
We won't ever have to be needlessly subjected to this nonsense again.
:rolleyes:

 

GAS

Hall of Fame
The audio is very noticeably late. You can tell because the sounds of the balls being struck are coming in well after the video shows contact. By my calculations, the delay is around 200 ms

If you ignore the video and just listen to the audio, you can tell the out call is made as Coco makes contact with the ball. She definitely has an argument here that the call affected her swing.

That being said, I think Coco thought the serve was out, and it's unlikely she would have made the return, with or without the call.

If you download the video (from this tweet) and go frame by frame, Swiatek hits the serve in between frames 55 and 56 in a 25fps video. This means it was struck at around 2.22s in the video. Now if you open the video in an audio editor, you can pinpoint the serve as being struck at 2.40s, about 180ms later

Back and to the left.
 
Top