Umpire blows call in horrible fashion, Hantuchova not happy

jm1980

G.O.A.T.
Hantuchova was serving at 40-30 (or AD, I don't know). Kerber's return is called out, she hits the ball back into play, and Kerber seems to stop the point. Umpire for some inexplicable reason gives the point to Kerber at the end of all this.


Hantuchova firmly voiced her grievances to no avail. A different player would probably have threatened to shove that ball down the umpire's throat, but Daniela was very composed.

I don't know what's a bigger digrace: the umpire's call or Kerber not agreeing to replay the point.
 
Last edited:

Bud

Bionic Poster
Umpire not paying close attention to what's happening.

Same thing happened with Schwartzman v. Federer the other day. Schw served at ad-in, the ball caught the corner of the box (ruled the umpire and hawkeye)... an out call came late - way after Federer struck the ball and the chump made Schw replay the point. It should have been his game. He went on to get broken and Federer served out the next game for the match.
 

000KFACTOR90000

Professional
I'm assuming the referee didn't have the benefit of the video replay and had to go on the umpires description of what she thought happened?
Great sportsmanship from Kerber anyway :)
 

tacou

G.O.A.T.
Tournament official should be able to watch a TV replay. Don't tell that would take more time than this.
 

AM95

Hall of Fame
To be honest, the worst part isn't the umpire's decision, it's Kerber's completely unsportsmanlike behavior.
 

AM95

Hall of Fame
Umpire not paying close attention to what's happening.

Same thing happened with Schwartzman v. Federer the other day. Schw served at ad-in, the ball caught the corner of the box (ruled the umpire and hawkeye)... an out call came late - way after Federer struck the ball and the chump made Schw replay the point. It should have been his game. He went on to get broken and Federer served out the next game for the match.
a) it was for the set

b) yes it was a delayed call but incomparable to the failure and incompetence of this umpire.
 

smalahove

Hall of Fame
The only explanation I can see, is that the chair umpire deems that the line umpire yells out at the same time (or perhaps a fraction later) than Hantuchova hits the ball, and on that assumption the chair umpire deems the call did not affect the (poor) shot. That being said, I can not see how she give the point to Kerber since Hantuchova should be within her rights to stop playing after an out-call (no pun intendended).
 

Sander001

Hall of Fame
Hantuchova was serving at 40-30 (or AD, I don't know). Kerber's return is called out, she hits the ball back into play, and Kerber seems to stop the point. Umpire for some inexplicable reason gives the point to Kerber at the end of all this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip4b4otl-c0

Hantuchova firmly voiced her grievances to no avail. A different player would probably have threatened to shove that ball down the umpire's throat, but Daniela was very composed.

I don't know what's a bigger digrace: the umpire's call or Kerber not agreeing to replay the point.
Not the first time.

Umpire: Louise Engzell

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8D34F4Ui5A

Or this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qv7_QWcoFn0

And Kerber?

Perhaps she should consider hooking up with Raonic, two of a kind.

:grin:
Heh it's like I'm in Reddit's Tennis section.
 

BeGreat

Rookie
It only takes one display of unsportsmanlike conduct for me to completely hate a player. Examples:

1. Henin: In teh french Open several years back, she raises her hand in the middle of a serve by Serena. And then as Serena is arguing with the empire about getting a first serve, the cheater just stands there, pretending she has no idea what's going on. I've hated her face ever since.

2. Raonic: not fessing up to touching the net.

3. and now this. it's so petty and unbecoming of a professional.

i hope kerver or raonic never win a major event in their life.
 

jm1980

G.O.A.T.
The only explanation I can see, is that the chair umpire deems that the line umpire yells out at the same time (or perhaps a fraction later) than Hantuchova hits the ball, and on that assumption the chair umpire deems the call did not affect the (poor) shot. That being said, I can not see how she give the point to Kerber since Hantuchova should be within her rights to stop playing after an out-call (no pun intendended).
Hantuchova put the ball back in play
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ
It only takes one display of unsportsmanlike conduct for me to completely hate a player. Examples:

1. Henin: In teh french Open several years back, she raises her hand in the middle of a serve by Serena. And then as Serena is arguing with the empire about getting a first serve, the cheater just stands there, pretending she has no idea what's going on. I've hated her face ever since.

2. Raonic: not fessing up to touching the net.

3. and now this. it's so petty and unbecoming of a professional.

i hope kerber or raonic never win a major event in their life.
^
This +1.

1. Hated that beady-eyed rat face (with the 'cooties') ever since as well. That was a greasy stunt Henin pulled at the FO.

2. I didn't see that one (Raonic) but on a related note, I was kinda surprised that Djoko didn't own up to hitting the ball on Andy Murray's side of the net (referring to his recent match against Murray).

3. Kerber was a total douchette, acting like a sleeze bag while Hantuchova was getting royally screwed by that hopelessly incompetant nincompoop in the chair.

Man that was ugly..
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

tacou

G.O.A.T.
The only explanation I can see, is that the chair umpire deems that the line umpire yells out at the same time (or perhaps a fraction later) than Hantuchova hits the ball, and on that assumption the chair umpire deems the call did not affect the (poor) shot. That being said, I can not see how she give the point to Kerber since Hantuchova should be within her rights to stop playing after an out-call (no pun intendended).
Even though Daniela's return was "poor," Kerber doesn't even play it.

It's just very weak and can be only explained as the ump not paying attention: ball called out, call was wrong, replay point.
 

stringertom

Bionic Poster
In the old days, the player in Kerber's position would simply catch Hantuchova's serve on the next point or not even swing at it. Back to ad in, and we're all done with this incompetence. I assume she didn't do the right thing here so shame on her!

I'm sure this chair will never get another assignment after this fiasco. What a tool!
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

TeamOB

Professional
I'm sure this chair will never get another assignment after this fiasco.
Unfortunately, this will probably not happen. For some reason the ATP and WTA never penalize umpires for crap like this. If I failed this badly at my job my boss would fire me on the spot. Umpires can get away with it for some reason. Has the ATP or WTA ever fired an umpire?
 

Crisp

Professional
This is terrible, I really feel for Daniella as this is simply unjust and the umpire is there to make things fair. Will we ever see an umpire apologise for being wrong or backtrack on one of their decisions.
 

tacou

G.O.A.T.
In the old days, the player in Kerber's position would simply catch Hantuchova's serve on the next point or not even swing at it. Back to ad in, and we're all done with this incompetence. I assume she didn't do the right thing here so shame on her!

I'm sure this chair will never get another assignment after this fiasco. What a tool!
Truly, that is the respectable thing to do
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

loosegroove

Hall of Fame
That was really awful overall. That chair person screwed up big, and then how did the director (or whatever other official) not correct it? That's not a call where there's any discretion involved, it was a clear cut and dried situation. And I understand sometimes you make crap decisions sportsmanship wise when you're so focused on winning a match, but that wasn't too hot on Kerber's behalf. From a fan perspective, I'm kind of indifferent on her, and this definitely isn't going to win me over. I gained a little respect for Raonic when he came out and apologized for the net incident that someone else posted about. Would have been better if he came clean at the moment, but at least he acknowledged it after.
 
Last edited:

newpball

Legend
I gained a little respect for Raonic when he came out and apologized for the net incident that someone else posted about. Would have been better if he came clean at the moment, but at least he acknowledged it after.
That is not completely correct.

Initially he did not apologize, in fact he made matters worse with his comments afterwards.

After the match, the Canadian was asked by the press whether or not he should have called himself on it, and said, “It’s a big point. If you can put somebody in that situation being down break point, same thing happens do you call it on yourself?”

When a reporter told him the point was Del Potro’s, Raonic replied, “Hypothetically yes, technically no.”


Source: http://www.tennisfrontier.com/news/atp-tennis/milos-raonic-admits-he-touched-the-net-during-del-potro-match/

Only much later he apologized, perhaps his pr advisers told him to do that.
And now when you Google the incident the 'politically correct' answers come on top.
 
Last edited:

stringertom

Bionic Poster
Raonic's gaffe doesn't even come close to Ken Flach's boorishness a generation ago that basically cheated he and his partner, Robert Seguso, into the record books as false champs of the USO doubles in '85. If a ball hits you, even your hair, you feel it!

Kerber's boorishness goes way past those two. She knew Hantuchova's return of her shot cleared the net and landed in front of her in play. To accept that point is unadulterated cheating.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ
No you've got to put at least half of the blame on Kerber as well. That was not right, and Kerber should have said something and requested a replay of the point.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

Team10

Hall of Fame
No you've got to put at least half of the blame on Kerber as well. That was not right, and Kerber should have said something and requested a replay of the point.
Completely agree. Kerber could have easily said what happened and asked to replay the point, but instead she tried to argue it was her point. Pathetic really.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

RoddickAce

Hall of Fame
Completely agree. Kerber could have easily said what happened and asked to replay the point, but instead she tried to argue it was her point. Pathetic really.
I think she is in her right to not move from the Deuce side, as it is the umpire's job to make the call, BUT going up to argue is just terrible.
 
I think she is in her right to not move from the Deuce side, as it is the umpire's job to make the call, BUT going up to argue is just terrible.
Well then I'll just say this:

What if we reverse the roles, and Kerber is the one that got royally screwed. Would she then make the same/similar argument as Daniela Hantuchova?

If we flip the roles and Kerber reacts calmly and agrees with the umpire's decision to forfeit the point, then I've got her back.

But as for now, she is every bit as wrong as the umpire for not acting like a true sportswoman (and with class I might add), and siding with Hantuchova because of the rules.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

RoddickAce

Hall of Fame
Well then I'll just say this:

What if we reverse the roles, and Kerber is the one that got royally screwed. Would she then make the same/similar argument as Daniela Hantuchova?

If we flip the roles and Kerber reacts calmly and agrees with the umpire's decision to forfeit the point, then I've got her back.

But as for now, she is every bit as wrong as the umpire for not acting like a true sportswoman (and with class I might add), and siding with Hantuchova because of the rules.
Yes, she probably would. And Hantuchova would similarly be within her rights to follow the rules, which is abiding by what the umpire decides, unless there exists a rule that compels a player to argue against the umpire when they witness a bad call.

I understand that in amateur matches where no officials make calls, there are rules that state/infer that players need to correct calls (that were mistakenly made in their own favour), but I would be interested to see if there is a similar rule for professionals.
 

Wilander

Rookie
Since years I wonder how Louise Engzell is allowed to umpire at Grand Slam tournaments. She keeps making ridiculous mistakes.

I cant believe Kerber accepts the point.
 

winstonplum

Hall of Fame
One of the most disgusting things I've even seen in my life on a tennis court. Kerber is a disgrace to her family, her country, and tennis. Talk about a pariah in the locker room for the rest of her career. Absolutely despicable.

As for the umps, the more tennis I watch, the more I feel the umps are taken off the local courts. With the exception of Pascal Maria and Jay Gardner, most of these umps do no better than we could. They're clueless, they zone out, and they're despicably stubborn when standing by their own disgusting calls in an attempt to save face. They're stupid; we've established that.

Kerber is a world of pain now as far as how her fellow players view her. Scum of the Earth.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

Starfury

Hall of Fame
Well, basically the umpire can't really go back on her (clearly wrong) decision because a player complains. Players complain all the time, yet they're not always right.

What she should've done (and I've seen others do) is ask Kerber what happened:
Now that I've seen the scene again, Kerber actually was at the net but I can't hear what she said besides shrugging.

In the end, it was an clueless umpire, a useless referee and a classless Kerber.

I'm really impressed Hantuchova went through with the shakehands at the end of the match.
 
Last edited:

Magnus

Legend
It was a dreadful call, probably the worst I've ever seen. Kerber also showed Nadal levels of sportsmanship, terrible stuff.
 

SLD76

G.O.A.T.
Hantuchova was serving at 40-30 (or AD, I don't know). Kerber's return is called out, she hits the ball back into play, and Kerber seems to stop the point. Umpire for some inexplicable reason gives the point to Kerber at the end of all this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip4b4otl-c0

Hantuchova firmly voiced her grievances to no avail. A different player would probably have threatened to shove that ball down the umpire's throat, but Daniela was very composed.

I don't know what's a bigger digrace: the umpire's call or Kerber not agreeing to replay the point.

Kerber is the new Henin I see. I hope she gets embarrassed the next round
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

Warmaster

Hall of Fame
Just awful from Kerber. Never liked her anyway.

You can't compare this with the Raonic incident at all. This is way worse.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ

LazyNinja19

Banned
Terrible umpiring! And pathetic sportsmanship from Kerber.

^
This +1.

1. Hated that beady-eyed rat face (with the 'cooties') ever since as well. That was a greasy stunt Henin pulled at the FO.

2. I didn't see that one (Raonic) but on a related note, I was kinda surprised that Djoko didn't own up to hitting the ball on Andy Murray's side of the net (referring to his recent match against Murray).

3. Kerber was a total douchette, acting like a sleeze bag while Hantuchova was getting royally screwed by that hopelessly incompetant nincompoop in the chair.

Man that was ugly..
Exactly! No way a player who has played top professional level Tennis for more than 10 years, and has been freaking World no.1 for 100+ weeks, "didn't know he broke a rule".



Apart from that incident, Novak has actually given points to his opponents a couple of times, when some unfair decision has been made by the umpire.
 
Last edited:

rh310

Hall of Fame
1. Henin: In teh french Open several years back, she raises her hand in the middle of a serve by Serena. And then as Serena is arguing with the empire about getting a first serve, the cheater just stands there, pretending she has no idea what's going on. I've hated her face ever since.
Why did Serena serve if she saw Henin's hand up? If Serena had hit an ace instead of a fault, do you think she'd have argued for another first serve?

No, of course not -- and Henin did what was necessary to keep Serena from cheating herself into two first serves.

You can't condemn one of them without condemning both of them.
 
Last edited:

Chico

Banned
Hantuchova was serving at 40-30 (or AD, I don't know). Kerber's return is called out, she hits the ball back into play, and Kerber seems to stop the point. Umpire for some inexplicable reason gives the point to Kerber at the end of all this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip4b4otl-c0

Hantuchova firmly voiced her grievances to no avail. A different player would probably have threatened to shove that ball down the umpire's throat, but Daniela was very composed.

I don't know what's a bigger digrace: the umpire's call or Kerber not agreeing to replay the point.
LOL This is nothing comparing to what Pascal Maria and Nadal did to Djokovic last year in RG SF. That was a prime example of terrible umpiring and bad sportsmanship. At least this umpire called the ball correctly.
 
Last edited:

Starfury

Hall of Fame
LOL This is nothing comparing to what Pascal Maria and Nadal did to Djokovic last year in RG SF. That was a prime example of terrible umpiring and bad sportsmanship. At least this umpire called the ball correctly.
No, the umpire didn't call the ball correctly, the linesman did.

The one thing the umpire actually did, was DEAD wrong. Not "close but no cigar" wrong, but "was she sitting in the same stadium"-wrong.
 

musto9030

New User
This one blew my mind. I cannot believe Djok didn't know the rule. Also, the chair umpire did a pretty poor job explaining the call. Here is a summary of the entire situation:

http://ftw.usatoday.com/2014/03/novak-djokovic-andy-murray-sony-open-net-point

Terrible umpiring! And pathetic sportsmanship from Kerber.



Exactly! No way a player who has played top professional level Tennis for more than 10 years, and has been freaking World no.1 for 100+ weeks, "didn't know he broke a rule".



Apart from that incident, Novak has actually given points to his opponents a couple of times, when some unfair decision has been made by the umpire.
 

tacou

G.O.A.T.
No, the umpire didn't call the ball correctly, the linesman did.

The one thing the umpire actually did, was DEAD wrong. Not "close but no cigar" wrong, but "was she sitting in the same stadium"-wrong.
Are you talking about this point? Because the linesman called the ball out, chair ump correctly overruled it.

From then on, the ump proceeded to butcher tennis law.
 

Starfury

Hall of Fame
Are you talking about this point? Because the linesman called the ball out, chair ump correctly overruled it.

From then on, the ump proceeded to butcher tennis law.
Oh right. Goes to show how wrong the umpire was, it even rubbed off on my memory of the preceding events ;)
 

RunDatGame

Semi-Pro
Umpire screwed up but at least she didnt know that Hantuchova is right, but Kerber... Wow, her behavior is disgusting... i cant believe it...
 
  • Like
Reactions: PDJ
Top