Serena did see the hand motion from her coaches box. She probably didn't mean to say it, but she did. When she mentioned 'I can see how you would think a thumbs up is coaching'.I am learning more about tennis officiating then I ever wanted to. Anyway, according to the rules does it matter if Serena saw PM give the hand signals? Does the official have to notice that the player saw the hand gesture? If not it’s a moot point. It doesn’t matter if Serena saw it or not. It’s still a warning or am I missing something? Did Ramos make the call because he saw that Serena noticed it. Or did it matter?
Oh ok, Serena, so you didn't see him giving you coaching but you saw him put his thumbs up (which was done when he was making the motion for her to be more aggressive and get to the net). So which is it, did you not see him give you the coaching or did you see him make the motion?