Usta - let call scenario- assist

Is this a let?

  • Yes

    Votes: 4 36.4%
  • No

    Votes: 7 63.6%

  • Total voters
    11

djkahn86

Rookie
Played a match today and have a question in regards to calling a let.

Opponent serves, we return ball back and they hit a lob. Lob gets taken by the wind and it sits in the air pushing it back and the ball lands on their side of a net, not making over to our side. Right before the ball lands, another courts ball rolls onto the court on their side. They call a let and then the ball hits the court almost simultaneously. Please tell me the ruling.

Is this a let
Replay point ?
 
Last edited:

Cindysphinx

G.O.A.T.
If a ball rolls on court while the ball is in play, it's a let. The Code:

"Let called when ball rolls on court. When a ball from another court enters the playing area, any player on the court affected may call a let as soon as the player becomes aware of the ball. The player loses the right to call a let if the player unreasonably delays in making the call. "

However . . . this is also a double-bounce scenario. The Code:

"A player shall concede the point when: . . . A ball bounces more than once in that player’s court. The opponent is not entitled to make these calls. The principle of giving the opponent the benefit of any doubt applies."

Your opponents were entitled to make the call as to whether their wind-blown ball landed in their court before the ball from another court came on court. Since the two things happened almost simultaneously, I would say your opponents should call it a double-bounce and award you the point.
 

Vox Rationis

Semi-Pro
I'd say if you've already hit the ball then it has to land in for a let call to stand. Obviously if you hadn't hit it yet when the distraction occurs then you can call the let, but if the ball is already hit prior to any let-inducing distraction happening, then that ball has to land in or else it's just a missed shot and loss of point. And you most definitely can't call let right as your ball is landing out of play.
 

Cashman

Hall of Fame
However . . . this is also a double-bounce scenario. The Code:

"A player shall concede the point when: . . . A ball bounces more than once in that player’s court. The opponent is not entitled to make these calls. The principle of giving the opponent the benefit of any doubt applies."
It's not a double-bounce scenario - it is a 'ball hit through net or into ground' scenario. That is covered by clause 20, not clause 19.

"20. Balls hit through net or into ground. A player makes the ruling on a ball that the player’s
opponent hits:
• Through the net; or
• Into the ground before it goes over the net."


OP makes the ruling, and only after the ball has actually hit the ground.

It is not up to the player who hit the ball to concede something that hasn't happened yet, and is to be ruled on by the opponent. The player who hit the ball is only entitled to claim the let, which they did. If OP agrees that the let call was before the ball hit the ground, the let is good.

Bit of a dog act by the opponent to call a let in this situation, however.
 

esgee48

Legend
OP wins point and Let call is not valid. Reason is they already hit the ball and it is on its way towards your side of the net. Ball is pushed back by wind and does not go over the net, hence they lose point. If ball goes over the net, then their Let call stands since they legally returned the ball. But since it didn't, the point ends when the ball bounces on their side of the court. If the errant ball had rolled on the court before they hit the ball and they noticed it, they must call a Let immediately and not attempt to return the ball in play. Since it happened after they struck the ball, everyone has to make sure the ball is still in play before the Let can be honored. This is the same situation as hitting a FH wide and then noticing a rolling ball. The person hitting the FH out is not entitled to a Let.
 

sureshs

Bionic Poster
If a ball rolls on court while the ball is in play, it's a let. The Code:

"Let called when ball rolls on court. When a ball from another court enters the playing area, any player on the court affected may call a let as soon as the player becomes aware of the ball. The player loses the right to call a let if the player unreasonably delays in making the call. "

However . . . this is also a double-bounce scenario. The Code:

"A player shall concede the point when: . . . A ball bounces more than once in that player’s court. The opponent is not entitled to make these calls. The principle of giving the opponent the benefit of any doubt applies."

Your opponents were entitled to make the call as to whether their wind-blown ball landed in their court before the ball from another court came on court. Since the two things happened almost simultaneously, I would say your opponents should call it a double-bounce and award you the point.
Where are you finding two bounces in this case?
 

Cindysphinx

G.O.A.T.
Oh, your right. I misread the post.

The ball is not out of play until it bounces on the wrong side of net. So if the other ball came on court before the ball was out of play, a let could be called. Still, the ball rolling onto court was not a hindrance, so no let.

I think.
 
Top