Saw a college match where one of the players hit the scorecard with her racquet on follow-through at the net. It was ruled that the scorecard was part of the net, so the ball striker lost the point, but I don't believe that is what would be the right interpretation from what I've read. It appears from USTA rules that anything attached to/above the net is considered a permanent fixture. USTA is clear that a ball striking a permanent fixture (they specifically give the example of a scorecard) is a loss of point by the ball striker. However, I don't see anything that indicates what happens if any part of the player or his/her racquet comes in contact with a permanent fixture during play. The only other consideration I can think of is that the opposing team could indicate such a situation was a distraction for them, either by noise/visual, or if the cards fall to the court. But in that case, I believe it would be played as a let. Anyone have any insights on this one? Our coach was not certain either.