What to do if you forgot to change sides in a Tiebreak?

996garage

New User
When playing a men's 4.0 league, we forgot to change sides after 5 points (coman tiebreak), and played a 6th point. After that point we realized we needed to switch sides.

Do USTA league rules require you to re-play the point or points that were played after sides should have been switched? That would really suck for the player that won the points. Or do the points stand, and you continue to play on, switching sides at intervals that should have been followed? (1,4,8,etc...)

On a similar note, if you forgot to switch serving in a tiebreak, I would assume that the point would not count? (ie, if a player accidentally served 3 times in a row).
 

dizzlmcwizzl

Hall of Fame
^^^^ Yep ... all points played in good faith stand.


I think there is a special circumstance when the wrong receiver returns ... I just am to lazy to look up that specific rule right now.
 

blakesq

Hall of Fame
I just looked this up, and, if you are in the middle of a game, and discover the wrong server is serving, you immediately switch to the correct server, but the points already played remain. If you realize the wrong server served, but the game is over, the score remains the same, and you must use the new serving order for the remainder of the set.

^^^^ Yep ... all points played in good faith stand.


I think there is a special circumstance when the wrong receiver returns ... I just am to lazy to look up that specific rule right now.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
When playing a men's 4.0 league, we forgot to change sides after 5 points (coman tiebreak), and played a 6th point. After that point we realized we needed to switch sides.

During a standard game or a tie-break game, if the players are at the wrong ends of the court,the error should be corrected as soon as it is discovered and the server shall serve from the correct end of the court according to the score.

Do USTA league rules require you to re-play the point or points that were played after sides should have been switched? That would really suck for the player that won the points. Or do the points stand, and you continue to play on, switching sides at intervals that should have been followed? (1,4,8,etc...)

All points played in good faith stand as played (as mentioned earlier in the thread.

On a similar note, if you forgot to switch serving in a tiebreak, I would assume that the point would not count? (ie, if a player accidentally served 3 times in a row). Again, all points stand as played. If you discover the error in serving order after an even point in the tiebreak, you correct the error immediately. If you discover the error in serving order after an odd point in the tiebreak, the service order remains as altered for the remainder of the tiebreak.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
Originally Posted by dizzlmcwizzl View Post
^^^^ Yep ... all points played in good faith stand.


I think there is a special circumstance when the wrong receiver returns ... I just am to lazy to look up that specific rule right now.

If the wrong receiver returns serve, the receiving order always remains as altered for that game only, then for the next game, you go back to the original receiving order.
 

Cindysphinx

G.O.A.T.
OK. Say the crazy-strong receiver receives at 0-3 in a Coman tiebreak, hits a blazing winner, making the score 1-3. Players then realize that super-weak partner should have received at 0-3.

Does crazy-strong receiver get to receive from the correct court at 1-3?
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
OK. Say the crazy-strong receiver receives at 0-3 in a Coman tiebreak, hits a blazing winner, making the score 1-3. Players then realize that super-weak partner should have received at 0-3.

Does crazy-strong receiver get to receive from the correct court at 1-3?
Cindy, please see my last post.

If the wrong receiver returns serve, the receiving order always remains as altered for that game only, then for the next game, you go back to the original receiving order.
 

Cindysphinx

G.O.A.T.
You know, I always wondered why the rule about this isn't simplified.

Why not just say that once the error is discovered, the team/player that did not make the error decides how the error gets fixed?

So if crazy strong receiver was on the wrong side, the other team can either let them switch back right then or can make them finish the set/tiebreak that way?
 

blakesq

Hall of Fame
probably because both teams made the error. If you let the wrong guy receive, you are to blame too.

You know, I always wondered why the rule about this isn't simplified.

Why not just say that once the error is discovered, the team/player that did not make the error decides how the error gets fixed?

So if crazy strong receiver was on the wrong side, the other team can either let them switch back right then or can make them finish the set/tiebreak that way?
 

Cindysphinx

G.O.A.T.
probably because both teams made the error. If you let the wrong guy receive, you are to blame too.

Yeah, but the serving team cannot pull a fast one by making the receivers receive in the wrong court. The receiving team can.

And if the server lined up wrong (or the wrong person served), it isn't because the receivers forced them.
 

996garage

New User
Thanks for the helpful replies!

Just so I'm 100% clear, based on the statement, "the service order remains as altered for the remainder of the tiebreak"; does that mean that if a guy mistakenly served 3 points in a row in a tiebreak, the extra point stands and you continue with letting the next guy serve 2 points as normal?(versus just 1)
 

ShaunS

Semi-Pro
Yeah, but the serving team cannot pull a fast one by making the receivers receive in the wrong court. The receiving team can.
They can't *make* you serve to them in the wrong spot though :)

The existing rules seem to be the best to me. If everyone was doing what they thought was right you stick with it. It seems to be both straightforward and the fairest thing.
 
Top