What would be the call here?

ichaseballs

Semi-Pro
You have to make contact with the ball on YOUR side of the net.
your follow thru can go past the net, as long as contact with the ball is made on your side.

What happens if your racquet hits the opponent or their racquet on the follow thru?
(Cause they are asking to get hit standing so close on a floater.)
Is this a hindrance? OR just considered "incidental" contact?
 

Dartagnan64

G.O.A.T.
Hindrance. After the ball is over the net, you can not interfere with the opponents.

There is no way that would interfere with the opponent as the ball would be in their chest or past them by the time the racket touched them. No one is making a play on a ball hit with a full swing from 2 feet away.

That being said. Who the heck gets that close in a rally?
 

JLyon

Hall of Fame
could be a hinderance on the opponent if they are negating you a chance at getting to the ball, as long as you do not touch the net or the opponents court you would be ok.
 

sureshs

Bionic Poster
You have to make contact with the ball on YOUR side of the net.
your follow thru can go past the net, as long as contact with the ball is made on your side.

What happens if your racquet hits the opponent or their racquet on the follow thru?
(Cause they are asking to get hit standing so close on a floater.)
Is this a hindrance? OR just considered "incidental" contact?
This question was in Tennis magazine a couple of issues ago. Racket clash does not matter.
 

ichaseballs

Semi-Pro
There is no way that would interfere with the opponent as the ball would be in their chest or past them by the time the racket touched them. No one is making a play on a ball hit with a full swing from 2 feet away.

That being said. Who the heck gets that close in a rally?
i'm up at net, opponent hits a frame shot that pops up and to the other side of the net.
i cross sides and take a high backhand stroke above the net.
meanwhile the opponent is getting closer to the ball to set up for a volleyball like block putting his racquet in front of me (on his side)
i hit a clean shot and nothing happened, but it made me wonder... i would be most upset over causing my racquet damage
 

BlueB

Legend
There is no way that would interfere with the opponent as the ball would be in their chest or past them by the time the racket touched them. No one is making a play on a ball hit with a full swing from 2 feet away.

That being said. Who the heck gets that close in a rally?
I know, but it's still a hindrance on a technicality.
 

Connor35

Rookie
The rule is that it's only called a hindrance IF it actually hinders the return.

As others have said, by the time the racquet follow through hits, the ball is probably past and therefore it's not an automatic hindrance.
 

jered

Rookie
This was debated already and from what I understand, it looks like most times a hinderance will be called on the person who hit the player or players racquet across the net. You have a right to follow through but by hitting the other person you have impeded their ability to make a play. Your opponents right to make a play starts the moment the ball crosses the net regardless of your follow through motion. So if they are doing a "volleyball block" that is an attempt to play the ball not block your follow through. You lose the point.

 

BlueB

Legend
Even if the ball is past the net person, the backcourt player still could get it. He theoretically could be hindered by observing his partner being hit.

Irrespective of the above, you can not touch the opposing player, except for the handshake.
 
Top