Played a USTA tournament dubs match Sunday, third of a 4-team round robin, winner would finish second. One of our opponents was about 10 minutes late; the USTA official said his team would incur a 1-game penalty and loss of the coin toss to determine who served, etc. Then he turned to us and said "Do you wish to accept these penalties on your opponents?" I turned to my partner and told him that I would prefer not to accept such a penalty for a 4.0 dubs match for second place; there was no money or rating points for state, regional or national rankings involved, and, to me, it wasn't right to start a match up a game because some guy got stuck in traffic. Partner agreed, so we told the official we came to play tennis, not read a rule book. We declined the penalty. Lost the first set 2-6, won the second 6-4 and won the tiebreaker (and the match) 10-8. It was much more satisfying to actually win on the court. Question is, what would you have done in that situation? Just curious.