When was the last time someone tried to underhand serve you?

I always love these threads. It really shows who takes tennis wayyyy too seriously. If you get aced or service winner on an UH serve, just tip your cap. Your got out thunk and out played on that point. The real reason people get upset with the UH serve is because they are usually pretentious. As such, that UH serve gets under their skin and haunts them for who knows how long.

Heck, I UH in a lot of situations. If I have to serve into the sun, an UH serve usually gives me a better chance because my second shot isn't battling sunspots. I've UH served on match points after serving heavy the whole match. Wasn't an ace, but it was a service winner. If you are going to stand 3 ft behind the baseline, UH serve. The UH serve isn't bush league, but the griping about it is.

And I'll drop shot on a serve too.
 
It really shows who takes tennis wayyyy too seriously.
I think it depends a lot on the context.

Our club runs a range of weeknight competitions. All of them are organised the same way (one 3-set doubles match then you pair off for a singles set each), but the etiquette of each competition is completely different. Some are 'play hard' competitions, others are more of a social hit-about, the rest are in between.

'Play hard' competitions, people generally accept anything within the rules. Others, not so much. Once I filled in on a night I don't usually play, and at the end of the first set my partner quietly asked me to stop attacking the net because "it's more fun for everyone if we get a good rally going".
 
Once I filled in on a night I don't usually play, and at the end of the first set my partner quietly asked me to stop attacking the net because "it's more fun for everyone if we get a good rally going".
That was my laugh for the day.

Get a rally going. In doubles? If the balls hits the ground more than a couple times, you are doing it wrong.

Best rally i had in doubles last night was Serve-return-poach and volley at net person- reflex save volley back - another reflex volley - lob volley - slice OH - defensive lob - OH smash winner.
That's good doubles.
 
Get a rally going. In doubles? If the balls hits the ground more than a couple times, you are doing it wrong.
It wasn’t really doubles as I am used to it. The server and receiver stayed back, and the net men didn’t poach at all.

Once I poached and hit a very nice drop volley winner, and was chastised by my partner because he “could have got it”.

I have asked not to sub in that division again.
 
The underhand serve doesn't get much love around here. Many wars here have started over it, with people siding with those who say it is a legitimate, legal shot and others who say it is legal but bush league.

But does it happen often enough to warrant any discussion at all? In 14 years of league play, I can only think of two times an opponent hit an UH serve, and both were from men in 7.0 mixed. The last time had to be 9-10 years ago. The first time the serve was a fault, and the second time I ran forward and returned it. So . . . whatever, dude.

That's the question, then. When was the last time someone tried to UH serve you?
July 2013. Southern Sectionals. First and "most recent" time someone has UH served my ***.

The sun was bright. They claimed they couldnt see. I claim they gamesmanship'ed my *** for an ace.
 
I got under-arm serve recently, but that was because my opponent had an inflamation, and few days before a tournament didn't want to stress too much the shoulder.
However he refused to re-schedule the match, and was keen to play that day.

Myself, I do use the under-arm serve, in particular when my opponent is too far away.
Or if I have a bad day with too many DF, occasionally I might decide to switch to get the point going.
My last experience was acing a guy with an under-arm service, on second service because he was standing too far away.
 
Top