Who wins the point?

Who wins the point?


  • Total voters
    30

Rickson

G.O.A.T.
Experts please chime in on this unlikely, but possible, scenario. Player A hits a drop shot. Player B races his way to the net and gets the shot back. Player A gets to the ball, but hits it out. Player B slow rolls to the net because he's still off balance from returning the drop shot. Player B touches the net after A makes contact with the ball, but A's shot does not land out before B touches the net. Who wins the point?
 
Last edited:

Limpinhitter

G.O.A.T.
Experts please chime in on this unlikely, but possible, scenario. Player A hits a drop shot. Player B races his way to the net and gets the shot back. Player A gets to the ball, but hits it out. Player B slow rolls to the net because he's still off balance from returning the drop shot. Player B touches the net after A makes contact with the ball, but not before A's shot goes out. Who wins the point?
I don't think any of your options are correct. I would think that the ball has to touch the court surface "out" before B touches the net.
 

HunterST

Hall of Fame
I don't think any of your options are correct. I would think that the ball has to touch the court surface "out" before B touches the net.
Yep. Balls not out until it hits the ground, but the points over as soon as the other player touches the net.
 

papa

Hall of Fame
Player A wins the point.

BTW, the ball doesn't have to necessarily hit the ground/court surface to be out - could hit a variety of things and be considered out.
 
Last edited:

jonnythan

Professional
This is a matter of timing. The point doesn't end when A hits the ball. If B touches the net while the ball is in play - that is, before it hits the ground or object to be out - then B loses the point.
 

Zachol82

Professional
Player A wins the point because a shot CANNOT be judged "out" until it hits the ground. The ball is still in play and therefore player B loses the point because he touched the net.

Edit: Also, your poll should have had a choice for "Player A wins the point because player B touched the net before the ball landed out."
 

jonnythan

Professional
The choices should simply be "Player A" and "Player B." There are lots of potential reasons you could put after "because" for each of them, and the ones in the poll aren't accurate. The answer is Player A, but not for the reason listed.
 

Roy125

Professional
I think I'm not reading the OP correctly. :O

Was the ball out before or after Player B touches the net?
 

Douggo

Semi-Pro
Yeah, I gathered that the words "not before" should have read as "before". OP should probably clarify, as in English, "not before" actually means the opposite of "before". ;-)
 

Douggo

Semi-Pro
Really boils down to which action ends the point. Hitting a ball out ends a point. Touching the net ends a point. In this case, player B ends (and, therefore, loses) the point by touching the net.
 

jswinf

Professional
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickson
but not before A's shot goes out. Who wins the point?

So the ball is out before Player B touches the net? Then player B wins the point.
__________________
16/m/san diego

I don't know where that quote came from. Did the original post say that before it was edited? Sounds like a difference-maker.
 

TheOneHander

Professional
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickson
but not before A's shot goes out. Who wins the point?

So the ball is out before Player B touches the net? Then player B wins the point.
__________________
16/m/san diego

I don't know where that quote came from. Did the original post say that before it was edited? Sounds like a difference-maker.
The OP said that player A's shot was still in play at the time that player B touched the net. The edit just reworded it to make it clearer.

It's player A's point.
 

WildVolley

Legend
Rickson wrote this in a confusing manner, but it isn't debatable. If you touch the net before the ball is dead, you lose the point.

A could hammer the shot over the back fence and into the distance, and he would still win the point if B touches the net before the ball lands or hits something.
 

y11971alex

New User
Mmm

It seems to me that you can't touch the net before the point has ended.
I remember seeing this situation in the footage of Laver vs. Roche in the 1969 U.S. Open, when Roche hits a very short volley and Laver races to retrieve it. He returned with a lob that was out, but he rolled into the net anyways. The net umpire called the fault: a "net fault."
 
Top